Cat

Image

 

Ah, yes, the writer’s muse..Or should I say distraction?  My wonderful cat Duke likes company and is omnipresent when I work, rest and try to change the bed linen!  So this poem is for him and also for my friend Elizabeth’s two new kittens.  She’s never had cats before — now she knows what she was missing all those years…

Ode to Duke

Strike a pose

Turbo purr

Brush against skin

With silky fur

 

Give that look

You know the one

That’s not about food

Not about fun

 

Like when you appear

In the middle of the night

When it’s hard to sleep

But you make it right

 

A paw stretches out

Touching a hand

It kind of says

I understand

 

Strike a pose

Sniff the air

Just don’t pretend

That you don’t care

About silent seranader

I'm a London-based writer and journalist, pretty much interested in most things. I love to write fiction -- and have written several novels as well as a bunch of short stories and poems, which can be viewed at Karen on Jottify.com http://jottify.com/writer/karenlesleytaylor/. I've started up a new food blog, which reviews places to eat, quite often with a literary or arts connection. I'm enjoying writing it. A bit like eating a good meal, it isn't exactly hard work. It's currently about places in London... but, I think, that could well change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cat

  1. Anne says:

    Isn’t he handsome!
    I have my own muse cast in a very similar mould. Wouldn’t be without him 🙂

Leave a Reply

